Study in Australia

Australia is one of the top countries only behind UK & USA for International Students despite having a population of only 23 million people. Australia has seven of the top 100 Universities in the World, providing 22, 000 courses with 1100 institutions. Australia has five of the 30 best cities in the world for students based on student mix, affordability, quality of life and employer activity – all important elements for students when choosing the best study destination.

Australia consists of six states and 2 territories.
States: Western Australia, South Australia, Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania
Territories: Northern Territory, Australian Capital Territory.

  • Country
  • Australia
  • Capital
  • Canberra
  • Largest City
  • Sydney
  • Official Language
  • None
  • National Language
  • English
  • Government
  • Federal Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
  • Total Area
  • 7, 692, 024 km2
  • Population 2016 Esimate
  • 24, 162, 000
  • Currency
  • Australian Dollar AUD
  • Time Zone
  • UTC +8 to +10.5
  • Summer (DST)
  • UTC +8 to + 11.5
  • Date Format
  • Drives on the
  • Left
  • Calling Code
  • +61

Australian Education System:
Australian education system is governed by Australian Qualification Framework (AQF) It is divided into three parts

a) Secondary Education: which covers primary, secondary and higher secondary education of students.
b) Vocational Education & Training: It is again divided into 8 qualification:

  • Certificate I
  • Certificate II
  • Certificate III
  • Certificate IV
  • Diploma
  • Advance Diploma
  • Vocational Graduate Certificate
  • Vocational Graduate Diploma

VET Education is provided by both government (TAFE) Colleges as well as private Colleges. They focus on training their students in a particular vocation or just to help students get out into the work place.

c) Higher Education: As of 2009, the Australia higher education system had 41 universities. 37 of the universities are public, 2 are private, and 2 of them are Australian branches of universities that are located overseas. There are also 3 self-accrediting higher education institutions. There are also dozens of smaller schools that do not grant any degrees or have accreditation – these are private schools that focus on theology, business, information technology, natural therapies, hospitality, health, law and accounting.

It consists of following programs:

  • Diploma
  • Associate Degree
  • Bachelor degree
  • Graduate Certificate
  • Graduate Diploma
  • Master Degree
  • Doctorate

New Simplified Student Visa Framework:

Simplified Student Visa Framework launched in the middle of July, 2016 to make the student visa framework simpler to navigate for genuine students.

Significant Changes in Visa Processes in 2016

On the July 1st 2016, the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) introduced several key changes to the student visa programme.

The Simplified Student Visa Framework (SSVF) replaced the previous student visa system. A single, Student visa (Subclass 500) replaced the previous seven visa subclasses.

The Student Guardian visa (subclass 580) was replaced by the Student Guardian visa (subclass 590).

In addition, a new combined country and immigration risk framework replaced the Assessment Level framework and previous Streamlined Visa Processing arrangements.

Since the 1st July, there has been mandatory online lodgement of all student visas and some simplified policy settings.

Nevertheless, all the students who were granted visas under the previous processes will need to comply with the terms of their visa conditions as before.

What stayed the same after 1st July:

  • GTE
  • Health Requirements
  • Visa Conditions
  • OSHC
  • Packaging arrangements

What no longer exists:

    SVP and Assessment Level Framework

  • Academic Requirements evidence for visa grants
  • Exceptional circumstances for lodging onshore visa
  • Mandatory ‘no further stay’ condition on some student visas
  • Visa subclasses:
    • 570 – Independent ELICOS sector
    • 571 – Schools sector
    • 572 – Vocational Education and Training sector
    • 573 – Higher Education sector
    • 574 – Postgraduate Research sector
    • 575 – Non-award sector
    • 576 – Foreign Affairs or Defence sector

Check the DIBP site for more updates and clarification.

Following is the list of Universities got AL1 status under SSVF. Al1 is is risk rating and indicator of managing immigration risk rating.

  • Australian National University
  • Bond University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Deakin University
  • Macquarie University
  • Monash University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • The University of Adelaide
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of New England
  • The University of New South Wales
  • The University of Notre Dame Australia
  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of Sydney
  • The University of Western Australia
  • Torrens University Australia Limited
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology